THE ARTICLE · 8 MIN
A DAW (digital audio workstation) is the software people use to record, arrange and mix music. There are dozens, and their “free” offers are easy to misread. This guide sorts more than twenty of them by what you actually get without paying, then lists the paid editions. Everything was read from each company’s own pages on 17 September 2026.
This is not a ranking. The right DAW depends on your computer, the kind of music you make and how you like to work.
How to read this guide
- Free (no time limit) — you can keep using it, but tracks or features may be capped.
- Trial — full or near-full access for a set number of days.
- Free, but key features blocked — something essential (like reopening projects) is switched off.
About prices: they are shown exactly as each vendor’s page displayed them. Some sites served euros because of where the pages were read; others showed US dollars. We have not converted them. The same page can change currency: Ableton’s shop showed Live 12 Intro at EUR 79 in one session and USD 99 in another on the same day. Prices differ by country, may or may not include tax, and change often — check the vendor’s page for your region.
Free, with no time limit
| DAW | Platforms | What the free version limits |
|---|---|---|
| GarageBand (Apple) | Mac, iPhone, iPad | Free on the App Store |
| Pro Tools Intro (Avid) | Mac, Windows | “up to eight audio tracks, eight instrument tracks, and eight MIDI tracks” |
| Reason Free (Reason Studios) | Windows, macOS | “16 audio and/or MIDI tracks, the same set of 15 Devices” |
| Waveform Free (Tracktion) | macOS 13+, Windows 10/11, Linux | Tracktion calls it “completely unlimited”; it includes 14 built-in audio effects and 4 instruments (Waveform Pro: 38 and 10), and more features are sold as expansion packs |
| Cakewalk Sonar, free tier (BandLab) | Windows (11 or higher suggested) | Some features are membership-only |
| BandLab | Web, iOS, Android | Paid membership gives “a doubled limit of 32 tracks” |
| Serato Studio, Free Mode | macOS, Windows | 1 audio track, 4 decks, 4 scenes |
| MPC Beats (Akai) | Windows, macOS | “2 stereo audio tracks” |
| Fender Studio (not Studio Pro) | iOS, Android, macOS, Windows, Linux | Free registration unlocks “a higher track limit of 16” |
| LMMS | Linux, Windows, macOS | Free and open source |
| Audacity | Windows, macOS, Linux | Free and open source; it describes itself as an “audio editing and recording app” |
| Ardour | Linux, macOS, Windows | Free to build from source; ready-made downloads are pay-what-you-want from US$1. Its FAQ also mentions a “free/demo version”, and says that when a paid copy “keeps going silent after 10 minutes” the usual cause is that the free/demo version is still the one running |
A few notes on these:
- Pro Tools Intro: Avid says “Pro Tools Intro is free forever.”
- Reason Free is new: Reason Studios announced it on 27 August 2026, promising “No trial or demo, no watermark, no expiry.”
- Cakewalk Sonar: its free licence “is currently indefinite, but as with the premium license, it requires periodic renewal through online or offline activation”, and “some premium capabilities are reserved for BandLab Membership”.
- Ardour: subscriptions are optional — “Nothing about Ardour’s functionality is connected to your subscription.”
- Audacity describes itself as “The world’s most popular audio editing and recording app”.
Free, but key features blocked
- FL Studio: “The trial is fully functional and never expires — you can use all features, but saved projects can’t be reopened.”
- Renoise: the demo has “No ASIO support on Windows” and “Rendering to .wav is disabled”; rendering selections and freezing plugin instruments are also disabled, and it shows “Nag screens”.
Trials
| DAW | Trial | What happens after |
|---|---|---|
| Ableton Live | 30 days of Live 12 Suite | “you can still open Live Sets created using the Trial, but you will no longer be able to save or export your work.” |
| Pro Tools | 30 days of Pro Tools Ultimate | “all expiring subscriptions and trials will automatically default to Pro Tools Intro” |
| Cubase | 60 days (Pro or Elements) | “you’ll need a Cubase license to continue using the software” |
| REAPER | “60 days of evaluation free, with full functionality” | Not stated on the purchase page |
| Bitwig Studio | “without limitations for 30 days” | “You’ll still be able to start Bitwig Studio in demo mode and open your projects, but save and export will be disabled.” |
| Logic Pro (via Apple Creator Studio) | “free for 30 days” | Subscription starts |
| Waveform Pro | “30 day unlimited trial” | Not stated on the product page |
| Reason+ | “free 7-day trial” | Subscription starts |
| BandLab Pro | “3-day free trial” | Membership starts |
Paid editions and prices
| DAW | Current version | Platforms | Editions and prices (as shown) | Licence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ableton Live | 12.4.6 (15 Sep 2026) | Mac, Windows | Intro EUR 79 (16 tracks) · Standard EUR 279 · Suite EUR 599 | One-time; Suite also rent-to-own |
| FL Studio | 26.1.6 | Windows, macOS | From $99 (Fruity) to $449 (All Plugins) | One-time; “all future updates to your Edition: Free, forever” |
| Logic Pro | 12.3.1 | Mac (and iPad via Creator Studio) | $199.99 one-time for Mac, or Apple Creator Studio $12.99/month or $129/year | One-time or subscription |
| Pro Tools | 2026.4.1 (July 2026) | Mac, Windows | Artist $9.99 · Studio $34.99 · Ultimate $99 “USD /month”, excluding VAT and applicable taxes; new 1-year paid-upfront plans discounted for the first year until 30 September 2026 | Subscription; perpetual via resellers |
| Cubase | 15.0.30 (3 Jun 2026) | macOS, Windows | Pro €579 · Artist €329 · Elements €99.99, shown reduced to €347.40 · €197.40 · €59.99 in a “Save up to 40%” sale (incl. 21% VAT) | One-time |
| Fender Studio Pro | 8.1 | macOS 13+, Windows 10/11 (Linux in public beta) | $199.99 one-time, or $19.99/month (Pro+) | One-time or subscription |
| Bitwig Studio | 6.1.1 (2 Sep 2026) | macOS, Windows, Linux | Essentials EUR 99 · Producer EUR 199 · Studio EUR 399 | One-time; “updates in the following 12 months are FREE” |
| REAPER | 7.80 (13 Sep 2026) | Windows, macOS, Linux | $60 discounted · $225 commercial | One-time; “free upgrades through REAPER version 8.99” |
| Reason | 14 | Windows, macOS | Reason 14 €239 · Reason Rack 14 plugin €159 | One-time or Reason+ subscription |
| Waveform Pro | 14 | macOS, Windows, Linux | $249 one-time (upgrade $149) | One-time |
| Serato Studio | 2.5.0 (2 Dec 2025) | macOS, Windows | $149 one-time · Producer Suite $9.99/month | One-time or subscription |
| Renoise | 3.5.4 | Windows, macOS, Linux | EUR 76 / USD 88 plus VAT, “license from 3.5.4 - 4.5.4” | Licence spans versions |
| Maschine 3 (Native Instruments) | 3.5 (per NI support; the product page still says 3.4) | macOS, Windows | €109 | Purchase (term not stated on the page) |
| BandLab Membership | — | Web, iOS, Android | Pro $14.99/month, or $99 first year then $149/year | Subscription |
Details worth knowing:
- REAPER’s cheaper licence is for personal use, or for commercial users whose “yearly gross revenue does not exceed USD $20,000”.
- Ableton’s rent-to-own is for Suite only: “Rent-to-own lets you rent Live 12 Suite on a monthly basis.”
- FL Studio prices come from product data on Image-Line’s pricing page; the page itself says “From $99”.
- Pro Tools: Avid’s page does not say in its text whether the monthly prices are billed monthly or annually.
- Waveform Pro on Linux: “Waveform Pro features are unlocked automatically while running on Linux.”
- Soundtrap (web-based) has a free version and several paid plans; we could not read its prices from its site.
Renames and recent changes
- Studio One Pro is now Fender Studio Pro. Fender announced on 13 January 2026: “Starting this year, Studio One Pro becomes Fender Studio Pro”. The free Fender Studio app is a different product.
- Cakewalk by BandLab has ended; Cakewalk Sonar replaces it. The Sonar page calls this “the official end of development and support for Cakewalk by BandLab, coinciding with the introduction of a free tier of Cakewalk Sonar.” It says “Activation renewals for Cakewalk by BandLab ceases December 31, 2025.” (Another answer on the same page gives 1 August 2025 and does not explain the difference; both dates have now passed.)
- Logic Pro in a subscription. Apple Creator Studio, a bundle that includes Logic Pro, became available on 28 January 2026 “for $12.99 (U.S.) per month or $129 (U.S.) per year”. Logic Pro for Mac is still sold as a one-time purchase.
- Reason Free launched on 27 August 2026.
Questions to ask before you choose
- Does it run on your computer? Some run only on Apple devices (Logic Pro, GarageBand) or only on Windows (Cakewalk Sonar).
- Is the free version enough for your projects? Check the track limit against what you make.
- What happens when the trial ends — can you still open and export your work?
- One-time or subscription? And for one-time licences, how long are updates included?
- Do you need a full DAW or an editor? Audacity describes itself as an audio editing and recording app.
Sources
Each vendor’s own product, pricing, trial, download and release-notes pages, read on 17 September 2026: Ableton (Live 12 release notes, shop, trial); Image-Line (FL Studio download and pricing); Apple (Logic Pro page and release notes, App Store listings for Logic Pro and GarageBand, Apple Creator Studio newsroom announcement of 13 January 2026); Avid (Pro Tools, Pro Tools Intro, perpetual licences, What’s New); Steinberg (Cubase product, trial and downloads pages); Fender (press release of 13 January 2026, Fender Studio Pro store page and Quick Start Guide); Bitwig (buy, download, previous releases, trial support); Cockos (REAPER home, purchase and download pages); Reason Studios (shop, “Reason 14 is Out Now” and “Announcing Reason Free” posts, Get Reason FAQ, Reason+ page); Cakewalk (Sonar page); BandLab (Membership FAQ, Payments FAQ); Soundtrap (support: subscription plans; free version); Tracktion (Waveform Free and Waveform Pro); LMMS (download page); Ardour (home page, FAQ); Renoise (home and downloads); Audacity (home); Serato (Studio pricing and download archive); Native Instruments (Maschine 3 product page and support); Akai Professional (MPC Beats).
Checked September 2026.
Related: Music myths checked · AI music generators and the lawsuits
- music
- music software
- daw
- pricing
- guide
